The Birmingham Law Society team consists of five elected officers and four staff, supported by the board, the council and 13 professional committees.


Linden Thomas
(Solicitor and CEPLER Manager, University of Birmingham Law School)

Vice President
Inez Brown
(Partner, Harrison Clark Rickerbys)

Deputy Vice President
Stephanie Perraton
(Partner, Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP)

Joint Honorary Secretary
Chaitali Desai
(Associate, Eversheds Sutherland (International) LLP)

Joint Honorary Secretary
Sophie Samani
(Managing Associate, Henderson & Jones)


Our staff team is responsible for the day-to-day running of Birmingham Law Society, including the management and administration of its events, training programs and membership database.

Head of Operations
Rebecca Lynch

Administrator & Events Assistant
Tasha Keen

Training & Events Executive
Denise Harnett

Membership Co-ordinator
Johanna Sahi-Proto


The role of the board is to oversee and support the elected officers and staff in upholding the values of Birmingham Law Society, protecting the interests of its members and setting its future direction.

Board members are appointed at the request of the chair, and ratified by the Council.

Regan Peggs
(Regan Peggs Solicitors)

Vice Chair
Professor Bernardette Griffin
(External Education Consultant)

Ex Officio as President of the Society
Linden Thomas
(Solicitor and CEPLER Manager, University of Birmingham Law School)

HR / Equality & Diversity Director
Karen Bailey
(Principal Solicitor, Bailey Wright & Co)

Membership Director
Caroline Coates
(Past President of Birmingham Law Society)

Sponsorship and Marketing Director
Laura Daly
(Associate, Irwin Mitchell Solicitors)

Learning and Development Director
Catherine Edwards
(Senior Practitioner in Law, Keele University)

Finance Director
Ben Henry
(Partner, Jonas Roy Bloom)

Sponsorship and Marketing Director
Dee Kundi
(Partner, VWV)

Board Director
Tony McDaid
(Chief Executive and Director of Clerking, No5 Chambers)

Board Director
Eileen Schofield
(Principal Solicitor, Schofield & Associates)

Ex Officio as Past President of the Society
James Turner
(Partner, Tuckers Solicitors)

Marketing Director
P J Ellis
(Commercial Director, Lightbox)


The role of Council is to represent the members of the Society in overseeing the activities of the Board. Comprised of 38 members, the Council is a diverse and representative sample of our membership as a whole.


Help us improve the translation for your language

You can change any text by clicking on (press Enter after changing)