Pro Bono Committee


Elena Goodfellow
Bevan Brittan

Senior Associate


Amelia Bauer
Bevan Brittan LLP



Sarah Askey – Keele University
Supervising Solicitor

Patrice Coughlin – Rayden Solicitors

Rebecca Craig – Tenet Compliance and Litigation

Anne-Marie Dhillon – LawWorks
Clinics Support & Development Officer

Victoria Dodge – The University of Law (Birmingham)
Pro Bono Coordinator

Marika Dorvlo – BPP University
Pro Bono Manager; Supervising Solicitor

Fiona Farrell – Birmingham City University
Senior Lecturer and Solicitor

Katie Fennell – Central England Law Centre
National Coordinator – Kids in Need of Defense UK

Samantha Gargaro – Birmingham City University
Director of Birmingham City University Law Clinic

John Glanville – Central England Law Centre

Developer of Operations

Cheryl Green – The University of Law (Birmingham)
Pro Bono Coordinator

Richard Hartigan – Eversheds Sutherland

Catherine Henry – Bevan Brittan LLP

Georgina Houghton – Gowling WLG
Responsible Business Manager

Katherine King – Central England Law Centre

Isha Kumar – Burley Law Limited

Catherine Lucas – Arden University
Programme Team Leader; Senior Lecturer

Abigail Macey – Bevan Brittan
Trainee Solicitor

Hayley McGrath – Arden University
Senior Lecturer

Ed Morris – Shoosmiths LLP
Trainee Solicitor

Manpreet Kaur Purewal – The University of Law (Birmingham)
Supervising Solicitor and Tutor

Louisa Soper – Squire Patton Boggs
UK Pro Bono Legal Director

Claire Stern – Central England Law Centre
Head of Service Development and Impact

Amy Tabari – University of Birmingham
Supervising Solicitor and Pro Bono Coordinator

Mark Taylor – Shakespeare Martineau

Molly Thomspon – Rayden Solicitors
Legal Assistant

Alex Tolcher – DWF Law LLP

Sophie Warren – Shoosmiths LLP
Trainee Solicitor

Bronwen Webster – Irwin Mitchell

Rebecca Wilkinson – LawWorks
Chief Executive

If you would like to contact the Pro Bono Committee, maybe you have a pro bono success story that you would like to share, please contact

The pro bono committee’s objectives are to:

  • support;
  • promote;
  • signpost; and
  • raise the profile of pro bono work amongst Birmingham Law Society (BLS) members and the local community.

The committee will:

  • keep an up-to-date database of sources of free legal advice and support for members of the public to access on the BLS website;
  • signpost members of the public who approach BLS to sources of free legal advice and support;
  • provide a forum for committee members to share pro bono best practice and raise queries and points for discussion regarding pro bono practice with one another;
  • invite guest speakers to share pro bono information, best practice, opportunities and updates at committee meetings;
  • ensure that committee membership is reviewed regularly and local firms, chambers and relevant third sector legal organisations are represented (or are invited to be represented) on the committee;
  • host an event during National Pro Bono Week each year to promote pro bono opportunities to Birmingham Law Society members;
  • proactively help to build links between local third sector advice agencies and local legal practitioners for the purposes of delivering pro bono advice; and
  • host; co-host; and/or support external facing events relating to pro bono and public legal education as appropriate.