The Shortlist 2024

Thank You

We would like to thank all of those who have taken part in this year’s nomination process.

The judges were very impressed with the calibre of nominees and the quality of work being done in Birmingham.

Outstanding Student Contribution of the Year 2024 sponsored by Datalaw

  • Gurpreet Chaggar, Aston University
  • Ruqayya Kalsoom, Aston University
  • Dana Burdan, Newman University
  • Alex Virdi, The University of Birmingham Law School
  • Eleanor Ford, The University of Law

Apprentice of the Year 2024 sponsored by Curium Solutions

  • Hollie Ingram, Browne Jacobson LLP
  • Caira Baker, Capsticks Solicitors LLP
  • Ellie Brookes, Pinsent Masons LLP
  • Jai Akhurst, Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP
  • Tom Reeves, Weightmans LLP

Trainee Solicitor of the Year 2024 sponsored by The University of Law

  • Isabella Davies, Anthony Collins Solicitors LLP
  • Hannah O’Brien, Bevan Brittan LLP
  • Drew Wilson, Gateley Legal
  • Sarah Hall, Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP
  • James Statham, Weightmans LLP

Paralegal of the Year 2024 sponsored by Landmark Information Group

  • Carrie Hu, Chase Morgan Solicitors
  • Dalbinda Gill, DWF LLP
  • Bria Hampson, Shoosmiths LLP
  • Lily Emmett, Weightmans LLP
  • Rikesh Chauhan, Weightmans LLP

Legal PA of the Year 2024 sponsored by the PA Forum

  • Carol Page, Chase Morgan Solicitors
  • Dawn Baggott, DWF LLP
  • Jodie Beckett, Eversheds Sutherland (International) LLP
  • Jemma Jackson, Tenet Compliance and Litigation
  • Kathryn Frost, Weightmans LLP

Solicitor of the Year 2024 sponsored by Dye & Durham

  • Marie Kilgallen, Irwin Mitchell LLP
  • Shereen Johal, Shoosmiths LLP
  • Jo Tunnicliff, Shoosmiths LLP
  • Joel Blake, The Wilkes Partnership LLP
  • Soyod Yasin, Wildings Solicitors LLP

Junior Barrister of the Year 2024 (10 years’ call and under) sponsored by Eminent Crisis Management Group

  • Grace Gwynne, No5 Barristers’ Chambers
  • Bethany Armitage, St Philips Chambers
  • Chevan llangaratne, St Philips Chambers
  • Matthew Cullen, St Philips Chambers
  • Callum Church, St Philips Chambers

Barrister of the Year 2024 (over 10 years’ call) sponsored by Birmingham City University

  • Omar Sherif Ensaff, No5 Barristers’ Chambers
  • Jason M Hadden, St Ives Chambers Ltd
  • Ali Tabari, St Philips Chambers
  • Sophie Garner, St Philips Chambers
  • Elizabeth Hodgetts, St Philips Chambers

Partner of the Year 2024 sponsored by JM Glendinning Professional Risks

  • Adam Maguire, Clarke Willmott LLP
  • Marissa Jacquet -Smoothy, Grove Tompkins Bosworth
  • Emma Rush, Irwin Mitchell LLP
  • Emma Louise-Hewitt, Sydney Mitchell LLP
  • Maryam Storr, Weightmans LLP

In-House Lawyer of the Year 2024 sponsored by BCL Legal

  • Sophie Samani, Henderson & Jones
  • Laura Stockin, Legal Ombudsman
  • Baljinder Singh Atwal, West Midlands Police

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award 2024 sponsored Access Managed Services

  • Birmingham Black Lawyers
  • Bila Law Academy
  • Gateley Legal
  • Pinsent Masons LLP
  • Weightmans LLP

Pro Bono Award 2024 sponsored by The In-House Lawyers’ Coach

  • Birmingham City University Law Clinic
  • Birmingham Law School’s Pro Bono Group
  • Family Advice Midlands
  • Shoosmiths & University of Law Small Business Advice Line Partnership
  • The Litigation Programme

Regional Law Firm of the Year 2024 sponsored by LEAP

  • Chase Morgan Solicitors
  • Spencer Shaw Solicitors
  • Sydney Mitchell LLP
  • The Wilkes Partnership LLP
  • Wildings Solicitors LLP

National Law Firm of the Year 2024 sponsored by St Philips Chambers

  • Bevan Brittan LLP
  • Davisons Law
  • Gateley Legal
  • Roythornes Solicitors
  • Shakespeare Martineau
  • Shoosmiths LLP
  • Weightmans LLP

Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by No5 Barristers’ Chambers

The lifetime achievement award is presented to a lawyer who has excelled in their career and who has made a phenomenal contribution to our legal community.
The winner of this award is, most certainly, recognised as a leader in their field and as someone who has contributed to the profession in many ways.
The award recognises outstanding achievement, and representation of the profession. The winner of the award is selected by the President of Birmingham Law Society who will outline the reasons for selection of the candidate later this evening.

2024 Legal Awards sponsors banner