

# Minutes of the 202<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting Of the Birmingham Law Society Held on 30<sup>th</sup> September 2021 At Squire Patton Boggs

Apologies: Tobias Haynes, Jajveena Janda, Kieran Leahy, Shaid Parveen, Clive Read,

Lubna Shuja, Richard John Williams, Karen Bailey, James Turner, Ian Nayor, Ian Gold.

# 1. President Declared Annual General Meeting Open

The President, Inez Brown, declared the 202<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting open and welcomed everyone.

Apologies were read out by the Joint Honorary Secretary, Clare Murphy.

The President requested that the notice convening the meeting and the minutes of the 201st AGM of the Society be taken as read. The President was authorised to sign the Minutes of the 201st AGM. On a show of hands this resolution was carried unanimously.

# 2. Presidential Address

The President gave her address.

At the conclusion of the address the President thanked the members and the professional office team for the Society. The President also gave her thanks to the Vice President, the Deputy Vice President and the Joint Honorary Secretaries.

At the end of her address the President presented a cheque to the President's nominated charity, the Child Brain Injury Trust (CBIT) in the sum of £22,081.05 and received thanks from Lisa Turan on behalf of CBIT (a short video of the work of CBIT having been presented to the meeting).

### 3. 50 Years of Service Awards

Awards for 50 years of service to the legal profession were given to:

Anthony Keating (admitted 15/11/1971)

Stephen Cole (admitted 15/07/1971)

Ian Gold (admitted 15/07/1971)

Richard John Williams (admitted 15/06/1971)

Ian Naylor (admitted 15/03/1971)

Michael Orlik (admitted 16/11/1970)

Peter Scott (admitted 15/03/1970)

Bernard Shepherd (admitted 15/12/1970)

John Western (admitted 15/06/1971)

# 4/5 Award of Trainee Prizes

Prizes were awarded as follows:

#### 2020:

- Charlotte Adams (Eversheds) Gold prize (£75 vouchers for securing a distinction on the LPC from BPP University), and also awarded the St Philips Business and Property Junior Award (tablet to the value of £250) for obtaining 96% in the Business Law and Practice module.
- Kieran Leahy (Mills and Reeve) Silver Prize (£50 vouchers) for obtaining a distinction on the LPC from The University of Law, and also awarded the David Hersham QC Memorial Award 2020.
- Megan Segas (Mills and Reeve) Bronze prize (£25 vouchers) for obtaining a distinction on the LPC from The University of Law.

#### 2021:

- Molly Fellows (DWF) Gold prize (£75 voucher) for obtaining a distinction on the LPC from BPP university.
- Bethan Luckman (Gowlings WLG) Silver Prize (£50 vouchers) for obtaining a distinction on the LPC from the University of Law.
- Shaira Begum (Kennedys) Bronze 2021 (£25 vouchers) for achieving a distinction on the LPC from The University of Law.
- Chantal Eilan (Mills & Reeve) David Hershman QC Memorial Award 2021 for achieving 80% in Family Law module.
- Oliver Salmon (Gateleys) St Philips Business & Property Award (tablet to the value of £250) for achieving 93% in the Business Law and Practice module.

#### 6. Election of Council Members

The President explained there are 5 vacancies on Council.

The President noted that the ordinary members retiring are:

- Poppy Wilkinson; and
- Greg Lowson.

The President further noted that the ex officio members retiring are:

- Stephanie Brownlees;
- Pardeep Lagha; and
- James Turner.

The President confirmed that the election to Council is contested and attendees were reminded of the criteria for eligibility to vote. Attendees were referred to the profiles circulated with the AGM agenda. The nominees are: James Farmer (Cornwall Street Barristers), Neil Fawcett (3PB Barristers), Aimee Fox (3PB Barristers), Rajveena Janda (Neena Janda) (Trowers & Hamlins), Shaid Parveen (The University of Law), Eileen Schofield (Schofield & Associates) and James Turner (Tuckers Solicitors). Those nominees present (James Farmer, Neil Fawcett, Aimee Fox and Eileen Schofield) were invited to say a few words. James Turner not being present, Stephanie Perraton spoke on his behalf.

The President asked those present to complete the ballot papers. These were collected in and counted.

Special mention was made of Christopher James, Past President of the Birmingham Law Society (1983-1984) who sadly passed away this year.

#### 7. Installation of Officers 2021/2022

The President announced that Stephanie Perraton has been appointed by the Council as the President of the Society for the coming year and installed her in office by transferring the chain of office to her. Stephanie Perraton presented Inez Brown with the Past President's badge.

The new President addressed members.

The President reported that Tony McDaid has been appointed by Council as Vice President for the ensuing year and presented the Vice President's Chain of Office. The Vice President gave a short address.

The President reported that Alice Kinder has been appointed as Deputy Vice President for the ensuing year and presented the Deputy Vice President's Chain of Office. The Deputy Vice President gave a short address.

The President reported that Mariyam Harunah and Clare Murphy have been appointed as Joint Honorary Secretaries for the ensuing year.

# 8. Thanks to Retiring Council Members

The President extended thanks to retiring ordinary members of Council, Stephanie Brownlees, Pardeep Lagha, Greg Lowson and Poppy Wilkinson.

# 9. Result of the Election

The President reported back that the following nominees had been elected as Council Members: Aimee Fox, Eileen Schofield, James Turner, James Farmer and Neena Janda.

# 10. Closure of the meeting

The President declared the meeting closed.