Birmingham Law Society bicentenary logo A WOneProfession oneregion onevoice


BLS Legal Awards 2019 Web Banner


We would like to thank all of those who have taken part in this year's nomination process.
The judges were very impressed with the calibre of nominees and the quality of work being done in Birmingham.

Trainee Solicitor of the Year

Jaspreet Atwal Anthony Collins Solicitors LLP   
Amy Beaumont Shoosmiths LLP   
Stephanie Hadley Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP   
Ellie Norton Higgs & Sons Solicitors   
 Francis Tsui Fieldfisher LLP   

Apprentice of the Year

Angelina Aitan Bailey Wright & Co Solicitors   
Michelle Blackwell Bevan Brittan   
Chloe Fay Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP   
Jack Mellor Jonas Roy Bloom   
William Preston Eversheds Sutherland (International) LLP   

Paralegal of the Year

Charis Haynes Harrison Clark Rickerbys   
Jessica Hopkinson Gateley Plc   
Rachel Sutcliffe Anthony Collins Solicitors LLP   
Amber Sutton Anthony Collins Solicitors LLP   
Gemma Tibbatts Regan Peggs Solicitors   

Solicitor of the Year

Michelle Adams Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP   
Alexandra Ireland VWV   
Jennifer Morries VWV   
Lucy Todd Irwin Mitchell LLP   
  Chrissie Wolfe Irwin Mitchell LLP   

Barrister of the Year

 Elizabeth Hodgetts St Philips Chambers   
 Iqbal Mohammed St Philips Chambers   
 Adam Pipe No.8 Chambers   
 David Swinnerton Cornwall Street Barristers   
 Anthony Verduyn St Philips Chambers   

Partner of the Year

 Nick Green Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP   
Christopher Plumley Trowers & Hamlins LLP   
  Clive Read VWV  
Melanie Williams DWF LLP   
  Clare Wiseman Irwin Mitchell LLP   

Birmingham Law Society Pro Bono Award

  Bevan Brittan   
    Hogan Lovells International LLP  
  Caroline Brogan Irwin Mitchell LLP  
Anne-Marie Dhillon LawWorks   
Kevin Saunders St Ives Chambers   
Sophie Garner St Philips Chambers   

Excellence in Client Service - Business Clients

Anthony Collins Solicitors LLP - Housing Sector Team
Anthony Collins Solicitors LLP - Procurement, Projects & Construction Team
Harrison Clark Rickerbys
Irwin Mitchell LLP - Employment Team
Sydney Mitchell Solicitors - Dispute Resolution Team

Excellence in Client Service - Private Clients

Harrison Clark Rickerbys 
Irwin Mitchell LLP - Family Team 
Shakespeare Martineau 
Shoosmiths LLP / Access Legal Solicitors 
Weightmans LLP

Law Firm of the Year (sole practitioners and firms up to 5 partners)

Gordon Jones Solicitors 
Greens Solicitors 
Neil Davies & Partners 

Law Firm of the Year (Regional)

 Anthony Collins Solicitors LLP
Enoch Evans LLP 
Harrison Clark Rickerbys
Sydney Mitchell LLP 
Thursfields Solicitors 

Law Firm of the Year (National)

Eversheds Sutherland (International) LLP 
Freeths LLP 
Gateley Plc 
Shoosmiths LLP