Birmingham Law Society bicentenary logo A WOneProfession oneregion onevoice


If you would like to contact the Pro Bono Committee, maybe you have a pro bono success story that you would like to share, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

      The pro bono committee’s objectives are to:
  •  support;
  •  promote;
  •  signpost; and
  •  raise the profile of pro bono work amongst Birmingham Law Society (BLS) members and the local community. 
       The committee will:
  • keep an up-to-date database of sources of free legal advice and support for members of the public to access on the BLS website;
  • signpost members of the public who approach BLS to sources of free legal advice and support;
  • provide a forum for committee members to share pro bono best practice and raise queries and points for discussion regarding pro bono practice with one another;
  • invite guest speakers to share pro bono information, best practice, opportunities and updates at committee meetings;
  • ensure that committee membership is reviewed regularly and local firms, chambers and relevant third sector legal organisations are represented (or are invited to be represented) on the committee;
  • host an event during National Pro Bono Week each year to promote pro bono opportunities to Birmingham Law Society members;
  • proactively help to build links between local third sector advice agencies and local legal practitioners for the purposes of delivering pro bono advice; and
  • host; co-host; and/or support external facing events relating to pro bono and public legal education as appropriate.

    The Birmingham Law Society Pro Bono Committee is made up of:

    Mark Taylor, Eversheds Sutherland (Chair); Elena Goodfellow, Bevan Britan (Vice Chair); Lucy Burrow, BPP University (Vice Chair); Amy-Rose Warman, Eversheds Sutherland (Secretary);Linden Thomas, University of Birmingham; Michael Bates, Birmingham Community Law Centre; Sophie Brambley, Linklaters LLP; Imogen Francis, Shoosmiths; Abigail Halcarz, Shakespeare Martineau LLP; James Dixon, No5 Chambers; Sam Burns, University of Law; Lorna Gavin, Gowling WLG; Nicola Ellen, Shoosmiths; Aaron Bradley, DLA Piper UK LLP; Geraldine Flood, BPP University; Laura Golightly, Gowling WLG (UK) LLP; Stas Kuzmierkiewicz, DLA Piper UK LLP; Amber Nixon, DLA Piper UK LLP; Katie Rothwell, Gowling WLG (UK) LLP; Amy Tabari, Gowling WLG (UK) LLP; Ellie Williams, Higgs & Sons Solicitors; Alex Pleydell, Mills & Reeve; Alex Tolcher, DWF LLP; Anne-Marie Dhillon, Law Works; Cheryl Green, University of Law; Chris King, BCU; Hannah Short, Shoosmiths; Jane Dulh; Julia Jones, Bevan Brittan; Katie Fennel, Central England Law Centre; Louise Foy, Hughes Paddison; Poppy Wilkinson, Gateley PLC; Sophie Kernthaler, Barclaycard.